You are here

Uganda

PUM has been active in the Uganda since 1994. In 2016 more than 80 projects were realised, a sharp increase from earlier years. Most popular were, in addition to the sectors mentioned above, also Business Consultancy and Healthcare. The intended # of projects for 2017 is 100.

PUM has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the UN Development Program (UNDP). We also work together in Uganda with:

- Grofin
- Iungo
- Bidnetwork
- SNV
- Sky Project

SKY will skill 6,000 youth (2,000 in secondary schools and 4,000 through agri-skills providers) with the aim of creating employment for 4,000 young adults to be able to earn a monthly income of at least US 90 by the end of the project.

The Skilling Youth for Employment in Agri-business (SKY) project, implemented by AVSI in Uganda with funding from the Netherlands Embassy aims to enhance sustainable creation of employment for youth in the agribusiness sector in the areas of Lake Kyoga, Elgon, Lake Victoria Crescent, and South-Western Uganda. Through SKY, AVSI will create employment opportunities for 4,000 youth, which will generate a total annual income of $4 million while supporting the initiatives of the Government of Uganda to develop a market, and social and gender-responsive agribusiness skilling. This goal will be achieved through expanding the number of basic and mid-level market oriented opportunities, increasing the quality, relevance and efficiency of agro-institutions, and other skills providers.

PUM will assist by sending experts to 20 enterprises around Victoria Lake and West-Uganda.

Most PUM-customers in Uganda find their way through above-mentioned partners. However any entrepreneur fullfilling the criteria is invited to apply for advice.

Top 3 sectors/ realised missions 2013 -2015:

Vocational Training: 33
Stockbreeding & Fisheries: 31
Food & Beverages: 22

Representative(s)
  • Mayke Harding mayke.harding@pum.nl +256788170871 Kampala
    Cuthbert Tukundane cuthbert.tukundane@pum.nl +256701035041 Mbarara
    Samson Oyoo Otukene samson.oyoo.otukene@pum.nl +256772327197 Gulu
    Alida Bakema-Boon alida.bakema-boon@pum.nl +256772895100 Kampala
    Ingrid Wilts ingrid.wilts@pum.nl +256772894800 Jinja
Country Coordinator
Jos Welzen jos.welzen@pum.nl
Project officer
Hannah Gutjahr hannah.gutjahr@pum.nl